How Social & Mobile Trends Can Grow Foursquare

mobile-payment-foursquare

Anyone who knows me, will be aware of my love for Foursquare, however, the worlds of mobile application & social media are fast-moving and unforgiving. Fortunately for Foursquare, 2011 continues to be the year of the mobile & with that, geolocation, mobile e-commerce & iOS5. Below, I list 3 ways in which Foursquare can use the latest developments in mobile technology to their advantage.

e-Commerce

Payments made via mobile are slowly beginning to become the norm for consumers, especially in the US. If Foursquare were able to integrate mobile payment & check-in, giving the user the option of check-in at point of sale, even sharing your purchase, check in could become more natural than “forced” – Terence Noah is at MINI Chelmsford [£ MINI COOPER 2011]. Of course you wouldn’t want your late night trip to the chemist broadcast to your online communities, my solution, a simple Foursquare “opt-in” function during payment (this could run at the same time as the payment is authorising).

Alongside this function, Foursquare could also develop its specials section further, perhaps introducing Foursquare Rewards, a loyalty card to rival Groupon & Nectar.

Push Notifications

This kinda relates to the e-commerce solution, but allows for times when a purchase isn’t made. Many will agree that the major downside of Foursquare is that you physically need to get your smartphone from your pocket/ bag and consciously “check-in”. Imagine if this was automated. I’m not saying the application automatically checking you in every time it believes you to be somewhere new, but rather, sending you a push notification (similar to a text message), asking “Hey, it looks like you’re at Lee Marshall Hair… Would you like to check in? Yes/ No” . Though you still have to physically accept, this could save time and potentially a fair amount of waiting for your 3G connection to load.

This may sound a little “intrusive” but I believe with the introduction of iOS5 style notification later in 2011, this can easily be accepted or ignored with little concern. Allowing a sensitivity level would ensure that you weren’t inundated with notifications. By this I mean notifications only being received if you were within X amount of meters of a location. This would also go some way to solving the problem of forgetting to check in.

You’ve got Klout

A further feather in Foursquares cap. The social media engagement measuring tool believes Foursquare to be one of the top 4 influencers of individuals’ social ranking. The site recently integrated LinkedIn (following Twitter & Facebook) into it’s scoring. I predict a growth in users as soon as the application is included. I wouldn’t count against a Klout badge also.

One thought on “How Social & Mobile Trends Can Grow Foursquare

  1. I too love foursquare. At first I thought it was good to check in to places that I wanted others to know about, e.g. at a cinema or a holiday destination, but now I’m hooked to getting the most points and checking-in everywhere I go (although I don’t broadcast these to Facebook/twitter).
    I wish there was a push notification for this. In fact I was surprised that the foursquare app on my WP7 phone didn’t prompt me with a “You’re , would you like to check-in” style notification. This would also help discover new places, tips, deals and nearby friends.
    I don’t think their is anything preventing this kind of system, just maybe a social reluctance?

    I’m also getting similar check-in fever at getglue.com who allow you to check-in to TV Shows, Movies, Music and books. Dangerously addictive!

Leave a Reply

