Boxbirds & Astronauts – The Story Of A Secret Love

This post has been really enjoyable to write. Aside from running tips & social media musings, I’d like to share with you another of my secret passions – art. Oh, and don’t forget to take a look at the video at the foot of this page.

Image courtesy of Boxbird Gallery

I don’t quite know how I found it. In fact, I can’t quite remember the year, (2007/08?), but after being exposed to my first example of Graham Carter’s work, I knew that my love for his art had only just begun.

The print, limited to 40 was entitled “B Movie” (see image) and handsomely priced at £250. I especially loved the vivid contrast in colours, the way the birds stood out as if they were glowing, and perhaps a little part of the romance appealed to my softer nature. I had to have it. I’d sit online refreshing the Boxbird Gallery website each day to see how many editions were left. 8, 7, 6 – I should really buy this, but for some reason, I held out, as if the price was going to fall. 5,4,3 – The less prints that were left, the more I desired one, believing that I could be part of an elite club of just 40 who could claim to own this beautiful silkscreen edition. 2,1, gone! How could I have been so stupid, missing out on one of the most aesthetically pleasing pieces of art I had ever (and still have) seen.

Much “eBaying” followed, but to no avail. I had lost out on this one forever. But, I hadn’t lost out completely. Graham kept on producing amazing works, which I didn’t miss out on. Light Keepers, Virtigo & Bobby Play to name a few.

I was lucky, lucky that although I had missed out on something amazing, alternatives followed, and these alternatives were just as amazing.

If like me, you love robots, box shaped birds, bright colours and a little bit of fun in your art – I recommend you take a look at Graham’s work. Also, if you are lucky enough to be in Brighton between the 4th & 27th May, I advise visiting his first solo show, “Me Marionette” at the Ink’d gallery (see teaser below). Sadly for me, I’ll be on the other side of the world in Sydney, but I figure that’s a pretty good second best.

Me, Marionette – The Astronaut from ticktockrobot on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

