“I Will Finish In The Top 100” – Sydney Marathon 2012

I have decided that I will run the Sydney Marathon in September. Why? Because I keep finding myself saying “I used to be a good runner…” or “I used to run half marathons before breakfast”. Things have changed and I want to change them back.

Sydney Marathon

Sometimes the only way to get back in the running game is to set yourself challenges.ย After London 2010, a little niggling doubt dug it’s heels in my mind. I have only competed once since – theย Leigh-on-Sea 10k the following October, finishing 19th in a time of 40:08. This proved to me that I could still do it if I set my mind to it & trained hard. But, for whatever reason I let that talent wilt away.

I’m slowly regaining some kind of form, though I’m missing my Garmin for it’s insights on pacing. I figured there would be no better way to get back on the wagon that to face my demons head on… I don’t enjoy marathons, but I’m in Australia and it’d be pretty awesome to complete the course and to be able to say that I’ve run both London & Sydney.

Furthermore, I’ve looked at the race results from September 2011. Not only am I going to complete the course. I am aiming to finish in the top 100. I realise that this sounds ridiculous, but last year a time of 3 hours 11 would have seen me fall into the top 100. When training for London, I was looking at a sub 3 hour race. I have faith (if not a little crazed).

So, call me nuts- but I’m going to do this and I promise to keep you updated with my progress.

Do you think 5 months is long enough to go from zero to hero? Have you ran Sydney? How did you find it compared to other marathons?

7 thoughts on ““I Will Finish In The Top 100” – Sydney Marathon 2012

  1. I think it’s definitely doable. Last October i was overweight and could run 5 miles at a stretch, now if I run 10 miles it’s a leisurely run! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m running in the Brighton marathon next week and although my aim is very different to yours – I am happy just to finish – it just proves that if you want something enough anything is possible. Go for it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hey Sian!

      Thanks for the motivation, I’m really looking forward to the training and feeling of being in top shape once again ๐Ÿ™‚

      How did your marathon go last week? Hope you had a great day!

      • It was amazing thanks! Loved every minute of it. x Sami and I were both on top of the world afterwards. I highly recommend doing one at least once in your life. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • It was amazing thanks! Loved every minute of it. x Sami and I were both on top of the world afterwards. I highly recommend doing one at least once in your life. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

