Day One, Sydney Marathon Training – Didn’t Die.

The blogosphere is filled with fitness regime reviews, and if I’m honest – the majority bore me senseless. So without further ado, allow me to put pen to paper and review of my new training regime, with a little twist.

Russell Brand

I make no secret that I’m a huge fan of Russell Brand. His witty humour appeals perfectly to my taste and his way with the ladies is reminiscent of a younger Terence Noah Craven. I digress.

I’ve been running on and off during my travels. Regular readers will recall tales of my Australian running struggle and the like. But, if I’m to get in to shape for the Sydney Marathon, I figured it was time to step things up a notch and get serious.

To begin – I’ll be running 3 times a week covering a mere 20 or so miles. Today I hit the hilly streets of Glebe, NSW for what turned out to be one of my tougher runs to date.

I always knew that the first couple of sessions would be the hardest, but the terrain was unforgiving. Up, down (yes!), up, up, up and down (ugh). I managed to clock up just less than 5 miles, in little over 40 minutes. A few laps of the park finished off by a run to the end of the road and back to the park, and home. I was ready to give up at 4 miles, but extended by just shy of a mile as I figured that wimping out at this stage wouldn’t bide well for my future training / morale (plus four miles is a bit lame)

http://connect.garmin.com:80/activity/embed/171875433

My PB’s can be found via the “about” tab. Put simply – I may not be on top form at present but I firmly believe that there’s a little African Child trapped in me.

Which song would you choose to describe your latest run / cycle / workout? 

Leave a Reply

