Jesus Was A Stationary Bike Cyclist?

So the foot has healed and I think I have a new love. Cycling. That’s right, it’s been a whirlwind romance, but there’s something about it that gets my heart going.

Bradley Wiggins Cyclist

I went back to the foot doctors on Tuesday to have my wound redressed and to my surprise, it was all but healed. The nurse still recommended that I rest for the next 4-5 days, but I defied her and went straight back down to the gym.

It all started after my stitches came out the week previous. I was finally able to put pressure on my foot again, if only a little. I eased myself in with a gentle 14 mile ride and it felt great to finally get my heart pumping again after what seemed like an eternity on the sidelines. Since then I’ve cycled a couple of 18 miler’s and a 25. Honestly, I don’t know if that is good or not, but it made me feel amazing.

My curiosity got the better of me and I sought to compare running a mile to cycling the same. According the encyclopaedia of Google, a consensus of about 3-5 miles cycled was equivalent to 1 mile run. Surely this can’t be true. That’d mean that in one hour I cycle between  4 and 6 running miles. That’s a pretty tame 10k time.

I’ll be back on the bikes tomorrow & will be looking to build up some strength in those lanky legs of mine. All going well, I should be running next Thursday – ahhhhh!

Does anyone have any better comparison statistics between running and cycling miles?

3 thoughts on “Jesus Was A Stationary Bike Cyclist?

  1. I’ve done a ton of research on the topic and have managed to become something of a tongue in cheek authority on the subject… When you boil all of the fluff out, and depending on your speed on the bike and running and whether you go by effort, pain or calories burned (you get a different answer for each), on a road bike it’s 3 or 4-1. In the end, cycling just rocks, period. Good luck keeping a lid on it, brother. And if you do, let me know how you did it. 😉

  2. Pingback: Research: How Many Miles On The Stationary Bike = 1 Mile On The Treadmill « Jesus was a Road Runner…

Leave a Reply

